lawpaster.blogg.se

Rdp client for mac trouble with windows server 2008 r2
Rdp client for mac trouble with windows server 2008 r2




rdp client for mac trouble with windows server 2008 r2

After much reading.and trial & error I used “Point to Point Tunneling Protocol (PPTP) this setting was pretty easy to find on both Server & Client however if you need help shoot me an email and I’ll be happy to explain. By default the Client sets itself up as “Automatic” and the Server sets up as “IKEv2” at least my 5 computers did therefore I’m guessing it’s default. None mention the “VPN type” is important. UsingĪ VPN is so much faster and cleaner than any remote app I’ve used…and I believe I’ve tried them all! I first I watched a couple of videos on youtub. Once you get the problem resolved you’ll never use remote desktop programs again. Please give this a try before you end up quitting. This has been a hug learning experience, but very frustrating. This is truly the first time I’ve postedĪnything because I didn’t feel qualified. I read everything I could find on the net…some of the stuff 3 or 4 times, but couldn’t find a resolution to my problem. So I found myself spending about 10 hrs a day for 3 weeks dealing with this issue. Try restarting the NAS, most configuration changes happen after a restart.

rdp client for mac trouble with windows server 2008 r2

Check the security settings on the NAS and tell me more details about the Authentication Method (domain/standalone), How many network interfaces are there available? Can you change the networkĬard settings? Does it have any firewall settings? file and printer sharing should be enabled and/or ICMP traffic. So the NAS is connected with a network cable not a USB cable. Once the share is configured it can be accessed by UNC path. It uses eitherĭomain authentication or standard user authentication. It can be part of a domain or simply standalone. The share/security permissions are configured inside the web mangement console. Well If it is a network attached storage then you have a public share on it. I really doubt this is the issue, and I've already searched through its options, hoping to find some setting that It's basically a web-based interface where you can configure the network drive. Typing in 192.168.1.126 while in a web browserīrings up the Edge Tech Corp DiskGo NAS web user interface. I'm just using the SBS server to get on the VPN. The network drive I am trying to access is connected directly to the Linksys router (192.168.1.254). This includes things like printers and some shared folders. I am able to access the SBS server's shares through the VPN. I do not get a reply if I ping 192.168.1.126 while on the VPN.ģ.Can you access other computers's shares through VPN? Try The only ports I have set to forward are the standard VPN ports.Ģ.If you ping 192.168.1.126 while on the VPN (the computer with the attached disk) do you get a reply? From the tracert I can see not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.ġ.Do you have any forwarded or forwarded RDP ports on your router/firewall?

rdp client for mac trouble with windows server 2008 r2

MCTS - Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. More can you connect throught Remote Desktop Connection on the machine? While you are connected through the VPN can you ping the IP address of the machine/server/computer ? How about the name of the computer (not the sharename of the drive). \\192.168.1.6 not simply 192.168.1.6 right?Ģ.What are the sharing and security permisions on that drive? Is the disk shared(Probably is since you said people can access if in your internal LAN but I have to ask)?ģ. " I tried 192.168.1.6 instead of typing in \\diskgo, but it didn't work"- from this I guess that. But when you connect through VPN you cannot access it.ġ.What is the IP address of the server/computer that has the attached external drive? Does it have a static IP or a dynamic one? And you can access this drive while you are connected to the Local Area Network.

rdp client for mac trouble with windows server 2008 r2

Your diskgo is an external drive atached to an internal server/computer.






Rdp client for mac trouble with windows server 2008 r2